We’ve automatically set your location to Buckingham Palace. Not The Queen? to find what’s in shops near you.

In Our Mad and Furious City

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne

£12.99

31 min

Description

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of The Trick To Time 'A swaggering yet tender debut' Observer Guy Gunaratne's blistering first novel In Our Mad And Furious City is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London housing estate that will appeal to fans of This Is ENGLAND or La HAINE. For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe. While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it. Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, In Our Mad And Furious City marks the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Product details

  • Author
  • Guy Gunaratne