We’ve automatically set your location to Buckingham Palace. Not The Queen? Update your location to find what’s in shops near you.

In Our Mad and Furious City

In Our Mad and Furious City

Guy Gunaratne

£12.99

1hr

18 min

Order for collection & 1-hour delivery

LIVE

Belgravia Books

Description

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of The Trick To Time 'A swaggering yet tender debut' Observer Guy Gunaratne's blistering first novel In Our Mad And Furious City is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London housing estate that will appeal to fans of This Is ENGLAND or La HAINE. For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe. While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it. Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, In Our Mad And Furious City marks the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Product details

  • Author
  • Guy Gunaratne

Instant Collection or Delivery

On NearSt you’re buying direct from real high street shops, who are committed to providing you with an easy, fast, and reliable service.

Instant Click & Collect

FREE
Free Click & Collect from the shop. Available for pick-up within minutes of ordering.

1 or 2-Hour Delivery

From £5
Super-fast fully tracked delivery. Available for most London postcodes.

Or select a timeslot

Whenever is convenient for you